#amreading

Currently Reading - Unravelling Oliver, Liz Nugent

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

I started this a while ago and had to put it aside due to scheduling, but it stayed with me. Now real life is intruding on finishing it in a most annoying manner.

From the Blurb:

Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children's books and gives him her unstinting devotion. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease - enviable until, one evening after supper, Oliver attacks Alice and beats her into a coma.

Currently Reading - The Doctor of Thessaly, Anne Zouroudi

Author Name: 

Bit of a self-indulgent pluck from the middle of books that I should be reading.

From the Blurb:

A jilted bride weeps on an empty beach. A local doctor is attacked in an isolated churchyard. Trouble arrives at a bad time to the backwater village of Morfi, just as the community is making headlines with a visit from a high-ranking government minister. Fortunately, where there's trouble, there's Hermes Diaktoros, the mysterious fat man whose tennis shoes are always pristine and whose investigative methods are always unorthodox.

Currently Reading - Poison Bay, Belinda Pollard

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

Author that lives in Brisbane, who has written a book set in a particularly brutal part of the New Zealand wilderness.

From the Blurb:

“The Maori call this place Ata Whenua—Shadow Land.”

Television reporter Callie Brown likes safe places with good coffee. But she joins friends from the past on a trek into New Zealand’s most brutal wilderness, in the hope of healing a broken heart.

What she doesn’t know is that someone wants them all dead.

September on AustCrimeFiction

September Monthly Summary (told you I had a cunning plan). Although the posting itself is late because of RIDICULOUSLY early fire weather with extreme heat and gale force winds. In October.

Good grief.

Not much reading last month - time off in an attempt to get some things organised before himself headed off on a work trip.

Currently Reading - For the Dignified Dead, Michael Genelin

Author Name: 

Got quite a bit of reading done over the weekend what with the heat and daylight saving meaning I had an extra hour of a night to get a few things done. He's off to Amsterdam middle of this week though so I'm not promising this can / will continue.

From the Blurb:

Currently Reading - Vertigo, Pierre Boileau and Thomas Narcejac

Book Title: 

First from a long, hot weekend of reading. Did I mention hot. It's OCTOBER and it's stinking. Sigh.

From the Blurb:

"Do you think it's possible to live again, Monsieur? ... I mean ... is it possible to die and then ... live again in someone else?"

Currently Reading - The Lying Down Room, Anna Jaquiery

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

Another from the week off - am really behind with this series, so hope to start the second soon.

From the Blurb:

At night Armand lay in bed with a sadness in his heart that ballooned until there was room for nothing else.

He thought with horror of the lying-down room...

Paris; in the stifling August heat, Commandant Serge Morel is called to a disturbing crime scene. An elderly woman has been murdered to the soundtrack of Faure’s Requiem, her body then grotesquely displayed.

Currently Reading - Snowblind, Ragnar Jónasson

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

As is always the way when we take a week off in Spring to get started on fire season preparations, there's an arctic blast that drives freezing cold winds through. No rain of course, but lordy it's cold out there so we all (me / him when he's not in the shed doing mysterious things, Meg the old dog, Mambo the Puppy, and Injira the new terrier, 2 hiding cats) are in front of the fire. They're snoring. I'm reading. There is red wine.

From the Blurb:

Currently Reading - The Unexpected Inheritance of inspector Chopra, Vaseem Khan

Author Name: 

Have taken a week away from the computers so a bit of "whatever I want" reading is being fitted in around farm chores.

From the Blurb:

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce.

On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra inherits two unexpected mysteries.

The first is the case of a drowned boy, whose suspicious death no one seems to want solved.