The Inquisitor

Publication Details
Book Title: 
ISBN: 
0312308159
Year of Publication: 
2002
Publisher: 
St Martins Press
Author Information
Author Name: 
Author's Home Country: 
Australia
Categories & Groupings
Category: 
Crime Fiction
Sub Genre: 
Historical
Book Cover
Book Synopsis

I hereby record those events which took place in and around the city of Lazet relating to the assassination of our venerable Brother Augustin Duese in the year of the Incarnate Word, 1318. So writes Brother Bernard, an Inquisitor of Heretical Depravity, following the discovery of his superior's dismembered corpse. At a time when heresy is a heinous offence, routed out with ruthless determination, Brother Bernard is accustomed to dispensing harsh justice. But as he attempts to make sense of this shocking crime, he himself becomes an object of persecution-thanks to his passionate involvement with a mysterious suspect and her beautiful daughter. Pursued as a heretic, implicated as a murderer, Bernard must now face his accusers. To fail such a task, in fourteenth century France, means certain death.

In the tradition of The Name of the Rose, Catherine Jinks has crafted a magnificent tale of murder, forbidden lust and betrayal.

Other Postings About this Book

Whoops - sorry, so far I've not added any other entries about this book to the website (yet).

Post new comment

Image CAPTCHA
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.